This firehouse was built in 1873 and was first occupied by Engine Company 12 on November 20, 1873.
The firehouse was located at 198 Dudley Street, at the corner of Winslow Street, in the Dudley Square section of Roxbury. It had the unique feature of a large bust of George Washington mounted on the wall above the apparatus door. The bust had been mounted on the wall of the old firehouse at Dudley Square that had housed Washington Hook & Ladder Company of the Roxbury Fire Department. The bust was moved while construction of 198 Dudley Street was in progress.
Engine 12 stayed here until September 30, 1880 when they moved to 407 Dudley Street, the former house of Ladder 4. Ladder 4 had earlier moved to 20 Eustis Street. On October 30, 1880 Ladder 4 moved into 198 Dudley Street.
On October 2, 1916 Chemical Engine Company 10 moved into 198 Dudley Street. Chemical 10 was disbanded on July 28, 1922.
On December 10, 1926 Rescue Company 2 was organized at this firehouse. They stayed here until September 21, 1938 when the company moved to the other side of Dudley Square, to the quarters of Engine Company 14 at 27 Centre Street.
Ladder 4 remained at 198 Dudley Street until December 23, 1974 when the firehouse was closed and Ladder 4 moved into a new firehouse at 174 Dudley Street, fifty yards away.
The old firehouse stood for many years after the Fire Department left the building. It was demolished during in the 1990’s.